I’ll take “Know Your Worth” for $500, Alex

Posted: May 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s official. I will never work for Jake again. I just finished the last assignment I’ll ever do for Jake and submitted it. It was a set to retouch that I had agreed to do before the debacle last week, and out of pure obligation, I completed it. But it wasn’t until he said that my retouching “made the model look like a drag queen” that I really decided that he’s welcome to fuck himself. Nevermind that the model had on a fishnet top over gold panties, black eyeshadow on ivory skin, and her blonde hair teased to look like David Lee Roth struck by lighting. It was my retouching.

I immediately told him to suck my toe. Well, not in those exact words. I said that I was actually getting really busy with other projects and “I wouldn’t be able to give his projects the attention they deserve…” blah blah blah. I think I’ve got the art of political bullshitting down pat. What’s so funny is he’s been nicer to me now than he’s ever been, showering me with compliments of how hard-working I am, how much help I’ve been to him, what a great job I do…gee, could have fooled me. Typical. It was so cliche, like a bad break up. I almost felt bad for him. Almost. He even said how much he’d miss me and we should get that drink we’d always talked about getting. Huh? Had anything even remotely close to that crossed my mind, let alone cross my lips? I know I’m worth more than that, and I’d rather not sell myself short, thanks. Well it’s over now and for the rest of the day I’m just gonna bask in the fact that now I’ll have more time to concentrate on myself and more important things…like blogging! :) ha!

Leave a Reply

