Pizza topped with a heaping dose of passive aggression

Posted: May 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Ugh, why do I put up with this BULLSHIT!? Sitting here, outside of Costco, I’m wishing murder weren’t illegal in this country…

I didn’t take the gig from yesterday, but did accept a retouching job from Jake since it seemed harmless enough. Stayed up most of the night finishing the set, around 8 images, and was excited (though exhausted) delivering them, as I always am when I feel I’ve done a good job. Last night he’d also said he’d wanted me to come in early so that I could help with shooting a model’s portfolio. I could shoot half and he could shoot half. Sure, I thought, why not…after all he said she had some experience. 

Trudged in this morning, eager for a productive happy shooting day. Saw the model Jenna getting her makeup done–a very pretty girl. This was gonna be a cake walk. I delivered the retouched images and got to work setting up for the shoot, a location just around the building with pretty leaves and shrubbery. A location we’ve used often. After the first 5 minutes it became evident this was going to be more difficult than I’d anticipated. This girl had zero experience! Not only was she Miss Diva 2011, dissatisfied with everything from her hair, to her wardrobe, to the location, she didn’t know any poses, her expressions were lack luster…what the hell WAS this? Must be a beginning model who’s daddy had deep pockets. Of course, Jake, pawn the newbies on me. Thanks a heap.

It took about an hour of shooting to get anything worthwhile from this girl…3/4 of the time spent reapplying makeup, her hair reprimped, getting through complaints of the her getting a rash from the undergrowth…of course I didn’t mention I’d rather have that undergrowth rash than the overgrowth peeking out of her swimsuit I’d have to retouch out later. But I digress…the real horror happened when we got back to Jake’s studio and he looked over the footage.

“Melanie can you come in here.” His voice was booming, dripping with irritation. It was a command, not a request. Puzzled, I ventured into his office. He closed the door. “Melanie what the HELL  happened out there?! I can’t use ANY of this shit? Look at it! It’s underexposed, the poses are terrible, it’s so…AMATEUR! How could you guys be out there so long and you come back to me with this CRAP?! Melanie I’m so disappointed in you…!” On and on he went about how he thought he could depend on me, how they’ve paid money to make them look good, how in the end it was HIS name on the line. Yeah, no shit, next time why don’t you supervise what the hell I’m doing if you’re so worried about it! Why don’t you try directing Miss Spoiled Trustfundbaby. I was nearing the breaking point, and then he really hit below the belt…

“I can’t believe this. You’re a UCLA college graduate and you can’t even take a simple picture right…what were you messing with Sam all night that you couldn’t think straight?…” I couldn’t look at him. I was fuming! Sam, my incredibly understanding boyfriend who would never in a million years speak to me like I was stupid. Yes, I’m a college graduate from a prestigious university, yes I’m smart…and I’m putting up with this asshole.

“Melanie, you’re fired from this shoot. I’m taking over. Here, I ordered some pizza from the Costco on Olive. Do you think you can handle that?” Fuck you! Can I handle picking up a fucking pizza?! I grabbed the money and ran out, tears threatening to spill.

So here I sit, outside of Costco, letting Jake’s pizza get cold. It’s the least I could do to let him wait. He’s just spoon fed me my own insecurities and torn my self-esteem to shreds. I’ll just say there was a long line…

Comments
  1. KP says:

    Melanie, you are a strong woman. I’m not quite sure whether I’d have your composure under the same circumstances. But regardless of his talent, Jake will sooner or later get what he deserves — a bad reputation.
    Hang in there. You are also learning what not to do.
    Thanks for the cool posts,
    kp

Leave a Reply

